Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program
Forensic Medical Examination Application for Payment

0.C.G.A. 8 17-5-72 provides that a victim shall have the right to a forensic medical examination, regardless of
whether the victim participates in the criminal justice system (or cooperates with law enforcement by pursuing
prosecution of the crime). A victim is not required to pay, directly or indirectly, for the cost of a forensic medical
examination. The cost of a forensic medical examination (not to exceed $1,000 per victim, per victimization) shall
be paid for by the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program (Eligibility applies to sexual assaults occurring
in Georgia on or after July 1, 2011).

INSTRUCTIONS TO PROVIDERS: All applicable sections of the Application for Payment should be
completed. The application must be received by the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program within 1
year of the crime to be eligible for payment. Please include an itemized bill, HCFA1500, UB92, or a UB04
claim form with this application and mail to:

Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program
104 Marietta Street NW, Suite 440
Atlanta, GA 30303
If you have questions, please call (404) 657-2222 or (800) 547-0060

SECTION 1 — VICTIM INFORMATION: This section must be completed by the provider

Last Name First Name Middle Name

Date of Birth / / O Male 0O Female
Did the alleged offense occur while the victim was incarcerated or in custody? O Yes 0O No
Date of Crime / / Did the alleged offense occur in Georgia? O Yes 0O No

SECTION 2 - REPORTING AGENCY: This section must be completed only if reported to an investigative agency

Date of Report / / Report/Case #

Agency Name Telephone Number ( )

Location of Crime

City State Zip Code County

SECTION 3 — FACILITY INFORMATION: This section provides information on the facility where services were provided

Name of Facility FEI No.
Address

City State Zip Code County
Date of Forensic Examination / / Telephone No. ( )

SECTION 4 — REMIT TO: This section indicates who to send the payment to

Name SSN or FEI No.

Address

City State Zip Code County

SECTION 5 - ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: This section is completed by the medical provider who conducts the forensic examination

| declare and affirm under the penalty of perjury that the statements made on this Application for Payment are
true and correct. | confirm that the forensic examination on which this claim is based was performed at this
facility for the sole purpose of collecting forensic evidence on the above named victim. | confirm that none of
the items/services listed on the itemized bill/claim form were donated.

Name of Provider (typed or printed)

Provider’s title SSN or FEI No.

Provider’s signature Date / /
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Application for Payment Policies and Procedures

By signing this application for payment, you acknowledge that all of the information and the subsequent
itemized bill(s) provided with this application, are subject to penalty of perjury pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 17-15-11,
and the request for payment for the reasonable costs of a forensic medical examination complies with the
following provisions:

1.

10.

11.

12.

13.

The sexual assault occurred in Georgia on or after July 1, 2011; otherwise, the appropriate law
enforcement agency must be billed.

The Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program will pay for the cost of a forensic medical
examination up to $1,000 per victim, per victimization.

The Application for Payment and the HCFA-1500, UB04, UB92, or itemized statement/bill must be
submitted within 1-year of the crime occurring. Please Note: The Georgia Crime Victims Compensation
Program may request additional documentation at anytime for the purposes of making a final claim
determination.

All applicable sections of the Application for Payment must be completed. Incomplete applications will
not be processed and will be returned to the person that submitted the application, noting the reason
the application is incomplete. The acknowledgement section of the application must be signed by the
medical professional that conducted the forensic medical examination. Please Note: We must have an
eligible application with an original signature on file before we can remit payment.

A physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, SANE-A (adult adolescent) or SANE-P (pediatric)
must have performed the forensic medical examination.

All charges/services associated with the forensic medical examination that was performed must be
itemized and submitted with the application, and only those expenses for the actual examination will be
considered for payment. The bill must be submitted at one time, within 30 days of the examination.
Follow-up visits for additional sexually transmitted illnesses (STIs) testing may be submitted at a later
time; however, the total for all expenses must not exceed $1,000 per victimization.

The Forensic Medical Examination Fee Schedule reflects the maximum allowable cost for each service
and/or procedure related to a forensic medical examination for sexual assault victims. Any services,
procedures or medications not listed, but related to the forensic medical examination, should be
submitted for review.

Payment made by the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program for a forensic medical
examination must be considered as payment in full. The victim cannot be billed directly or indirectly for
a forensic examination. All other services can be billed to the victim or their respective insurance.

The Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program is not bound by any billing or contractual
agreements made between agencies and/or service providers.

The provider and/or facility should bill the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program the usual and
customary charges for the forensic examination on a HCFA-1500, UB04, UB92, or itemized statement.
To be considered for reimbursement, the bill for service must include the associated CPT Code or
Revenue Code and an itemization of the services provided.

The cost of only two forensic medical examinations per year, per sexual assault victim, will be
considered a reasonable cost. If more than two requests are submitted per year, per victim, the third
claim will be submitted to the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Board for consideration.

Any provider and/or facility submitting their Applications for Payment are subject to a site visit by the
Criminal Justice Coordinating Council and must cooperate with the site visit process as a condition of
receiving future payments for forensic medical examinations.

The victim may apply to the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program to be considered for other
eligible expenses (i.e., medical, mental health counseling, funeral, crime-scene clean-up or lost
wages/loss of support). Please contact us at 404-657-2222/800-547-0060 or at cjcc.ga.gov for an
application to apply for the above benefits.

Please Note: For additional information, please refer to our website at cjcc.ga.gov




