01. WHO CAN APPLY FOR CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION?
You are an innocent victim of a violent crime and suffered personal injury
You went to the aid of another and suffered personal injury and/or serious mental or emotional trauma as a result
You witnessed or were threatened with a crime and suffered serious mental or emotional trauma as a result
You are the parent or legal guardian of a minor victim
You are the parent or legal guardian of a minor victim and you lost wages or support due to the victimization
You are the surviving spouse, parent, sibling or child of a homicide victim (includes step relationships for crimes occurring on or after May 6, 2015)
You were legally dependent on support from a deceased crime victim
You are a domestic violence victim who is dependent on support from the offender
You are not the victim, but you have been paying bills related to the crime.
- Someone who has taken responsibility (or is listed as a guarantor) for debt incurred as a result of a violent crime.
02. WHAT CAN I BE COMPENSATED FOR AS A CRIME VICTIM?
The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council administers the Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program, which helps victims and their families through the emotional and physical aftermath of a crime by easing the monetary impact placed upon them by providing financial benefits for expenses such as medical bills, loss of earnings, funeral expenses, mental health counseling, and crime scene sanitization.
03. HOW DO I QUALIFY FOR CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION?
In order to qualify for the program the crime must have been reported to the proper authorizes within 72 hours of the crime; and the victim must file an application within 1 year of the crime, unless good cause is shown. A claim submitted 3 years after the victimization cannot be considered for crimes occurring prior to July 1, 2014.
Please Note: For crimes occurring on or after July 1, 2014 the victim must file an application within 3 years of the date of the crime. In cases where the victim was a minor at the time of the victimization and an application was not filed on their behalf, he or she may file an application until 3 years after his or her eighteenth birthday. If good cause is show, the board may extend the time for filing any claim.
04. WHAT ARE THE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR A COMPLETE APPLICATION/CLAIM?
You must submit a completed Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Application with an original signature.
You must submit a police report or an investigative report from proper government authorities (i.e law enforcement, child protective services, the courts, medical authorities, etc.) listing the applicant as a victim or witness.
You must submit at least one itemized bill that includes (victims name, date(s) of service, service rendered, cost of service, name of provider, and provider contact information).
PLEASE NOTE: If seeking counseling benefits, a completed psychological service report is required after the first visit and must document that the services rendered are directly related to the crime listed on the investigative report. The report must be submitted by the licensed mental health professional that provided the service.
05. WHAT IS AN ITEMIZED BILL?
An itemized bill shows the provider's name, address and phone number, the account number (if applicable), the date(s) of service (date actual services were provided), description of all the services provided (e.g. x-ray, replaced tooth, operating room, etc.), charges for each service provided, and total charges and/or balance due.
06. HOW CAN I GET REIMBURSED FOR LOST WAGES?
You may qualify to be reimbursed for lost wages if you are able to provide us with: proof that you were gainfully employed at the time of the victimization, official documentation showing how much you earned 60 days prior to the victimization, official documentation from your employer showing you missed work and lost pay due to the victimization (additional documentation will be required if you are self-employed), and records from a physician or a licensed mental health professional that provided treatment at the time of the victimization stating you had to be out of work.
07. HOW MUCH FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE?
- Medical/Dental Expenses - up to $15,000
- Counseling Expenses - up to $3,000
- Economic Support - up to $10,000
- Crime Scene Sanitization - up to $1,500
- Funeral Expenses - up to $6,000 for crimes occurring on after May 6, 2015 and up to $3,000 for crimes that occurred prior to May 6, 2015
These are the maximum amounts that an eligible claimant may qualify for in each benefit category (the maximum program amount is $25,000 per victim based on eligible expenses).
08. WHO IS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR VICTIMS COMPENSATION?
You were committing a crime or you were incarcerated when the crime occurred
You participated in or were involved in the events leading to the crime
You were on probation or parole due to a felony crime involving physical injury to others when the crime occurred
You are filing the application more than 3 years from the date of the crime (for crimes occurring prior to July 1, 2014)
- A victim of property crime.
09. IF YOU ARE ASSAULTED IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY, CAN YOU APPLY FOR CVCP?
Yes. You can apply for Georgia Crime Victims Compensation if you are a Georgia resident who was victimized in a country that does not have a victim's compensation program.
10. CAN I USE THE PROGRAM IF I LIVE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY?
Yes. You can apply for the program if the crime occurred in Georgia.
11. IF THE ASSAULT HAPPENED IN ANOTHER STATE, CAN YOU APPLY IN GEORGIA?
No. You should apply for victim's compensation in the state where the crime occurred.
12. DO YOU HAVE TO BE A GEORGIA RESIDENT TO APPLY FOR PROGRAM?
No. You do not have to be a Georgia resident to apply for the program.
13. DOES THE PROGRAM PAY FOR PROPERTY DAMAGE OR LOSS?
No. The program does not cover property loss or damage unless it is for the replacement of medically necessary devices such as eyeglasses, wheelchair, etc.
14. WHAT TYPES OF CRIME ARE ELIGIBLE FOR BENEFITS?
- Sexual Assault
- Child Abuse
- Domestic Violence
- Vehicular Homicide
- Child Pornography
- Child Exploitation
- Hit and Run
Please Note: The above list does not show all covered crimes. Please contact us if you don't see your crime, or if you have questions.
15. DO YOU PAY FOR PAIN AND SUFFERING?
No. The program does not pay for pain and suffering.
16. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO BE ARRESTED TO QUALIFY FOR COMPENSATION?
No. An arrest or conviction is not required to receive compensation.
17. WHAT IS THE COUNSELING FEE SCHEDULE?
The Program’s current hourly payment schedule for the counseling benefits is as follows:
$45.00 for group/family sessions
$100.00 for a Licensed Mental Health Professional (e.g. Psychologist, LPC, LMFT, LCSW, etc.)
$125.00 for a Psychiatrist