JAY NEAL EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR



Minutes

Criminal Justice Coordinating Council Friday, June 14, 2019; 10:30 a.m. DCS Boardroom; 8th Floor East Tower 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive SE, Atlanta, GA 30334

Attendees

The following members were present: Joseph Hood (Vice Chairman), Director Homer Bryson*, Ms. Jacqueline Bunn, Director Cynthia Clanton, Ms. Sonja Fillingame, Sheriff Ron Freeman, Commissioner Liz Hausmann*, Assistant Commissioner Scott Maurer, Commissioner Avery Niles+, Assistant Commissioner Jay Sanders, Director Pete Skandalakis*, Commissioner Timothy C. Ward, Chief Judge Brenda Weaver, and Chairman Jerry Willis.

The following Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (CJCC) staff members were present: Director Jay Neal, Deputy Director Steven Hatfield, Kristy Carter, Aisha Ford, Laura Thompson, and Rachel Kilgore.

The following guests were present: Director Vic Reynolds, Georgia Bureau of Investigation; and Meisa Pace, Administrative Office of the Courts

*Via conference call +Designee present

Welcome and Call to Order

Vice Chairman Joe Hood called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m., and Ms. Rachel Kilgore called the roll. Vice Chairman Hood called for a review of the minutes of the March 18, 2019 meeting. Ms. Jacqueline Bunn noted a change on page five of the draft minutes: "Mr. Robert" should be changed to read "Mr. Thornton." With this change, Assistant Commissioner Maurer made a motion to approve the minutes; Director Cynthia Clanton seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

Criminal Justice Grants Committee Recommendations, Ms. Laura Thompson

The Criminal Justice Grants Committee met on Tuesday, June 4, 2019. Regarding the Juvenile Justice Incentive Grant (JJIG) Program's FY19 deobligations and reallocations, the Committee recommended awarding funds as detailed in Appendix A. Ms. Sonja Fillingame motioned to accept

104 MARIETTA STREET NW, SUITE 440 ★ ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-2743 404.657.1956 ★ 877.231.6590 ★ 404.657.1957 FAX CJCC.GEORGIA.GOV

BRIAN P. KEMP GOVERNOR the recommendations as presented, and Chief Judge Brenda Weaver seconded the motion. Director Clanton abstained from voting regarding the Administrative Office of the Courts' award in the amount of \$18,694, which will fund the annual maintenance for the Incentive Grant online reporting tool. The motion to accept the Committee's recommendations as presented carried.

Victim Assistance Grants Committee Recommendations, Ms. Kristy Carter

The Victim Assistance Grants Committee met on Thursday, May 30, 2019, and made recommendations detailed in Appendix B. These recommendations were as follows:

- State FY2020 Domestic Violence Funds
 - Award the 46 programs at their current award amounts in the amount of \$11,615,854. (Appendix B, Tab A)
 - Award two new domestic violence shelter programs, Colquitt County Serenity House Project, Inc. and the Center for Pan Asian Community Services, Inc. awards in the amount of \$75,000 per agency. (*Appendix B, Tab A*)
- State FY2020 Sexual Assault Funds
 - Award the 22 programs at heir current award amounts in the amount of \$1,076,526. (Appendix B, Tab B)
 - Award six new certified sexual assault agencies that perform forensic medical services on-site in the amount of \$40,000 per agency. (*Appendix B, Tab B*)
- Sexual Assault-Preventive Health Block Grant
 - Award the 22 sexual assault centers at current award amounts (\$9,135 per subgrant) for a total of \$200,970. (Appendix B, Tab B)
- Domestic Violence-Family Violence Prevention and Services Act (FVPSA) FFY19
 - Award the 46 programs at their current award amounts in the total amount of \$1,578,686. (Appendix B, Tab C)
 - Award the 30 programs at their current award amounts in the total amount of \$1,357,955. (Appendix B, Tab C)
- Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
 - Continue current subgrants and projects in the amount of \$857,750 (Appendix B, Tab D)

Chief Judge Weaver motioned to accept the recommendations as presented, and Director Clanton seconded the motion. The motion to accept the Committee's recommendations as presented carried.

Proposed Amended Rules of the CJCC, Deputy Director Steven Hatfield

Deputy Director Steven Hatfield extended a welcome and asked the Council to turn its attention to the Administrative Rule changes as detailed in Appendix C. He asked Ms. Kristy Carter to present the updates on the Certification of Crime Victim Assistance Programs portion of the proposed amended Rules (144-4-.05). After Ms. Carter's presentation, Ms. Bunn noted a change on page one of the draft: There should be a period at the end of the paragraph inn section (2)(b). After this, Ms. Aisha Ford presented the changes regarding the Crime Victims Compensation Board (144-4-

.06), Unclaimed Victim Restitution (144-4-.07), and Forensic Medical Exams (FMEs) (144-4-.08). She explained the Committee recommended accepting these changes as detailed, with the only exception of 144-4-.08 (1)(a). This sentence would remain the same as reflected in the original language so as to read: "The sexual assault crime must have occurred in Georgia on or after July 1, 2011." With no further comments or questions, Sheriff Ron Freeman motioned to adopt the rules as presented with both Ms. Bunn's recommendation and Ms. Ford's included; Assistant Commissioner Jay Sanders seconded, and the motion carried.

Adjourn

Ms. Bunn requested that the CJCC's Statistical Analysis Center present briefly on their ongoing projects at the next full Council Meeting. Deputy Director Hatfield confirmed. Vice Chairman Hood recognized Ms. Bunn for having recently received the State Bar of Georgia's Thomas R. Burnside, Jr. Excellence in Bar Leadership Award.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m.